Drag to reposition cover

Thank You for Smoking


5 Sep 2005

1 hr 32 min

Comedy, Drama

Tobacco lobbyist Nick Naylor is trying to SAVE YOUR ASH!
The chief spokesperson and lobbyist Nick Naylor is the Vice-President of the Academy of Tobacco Studies. He is talented in speaking and spins argument to defend the cigarette industry in the most difficult situations. His best friends are Polly Bailey that works in the Moderation Council in alcohol business, and Bobby Jay Bliss of the gun business own advisory group SAFETY. They frequently meet each other in a bar and they self-entitle the Mod Squad a.k.a. Merchants of Death, disputing which industry has killed more people. Nick's greatest enemy is Vermont's Senator Ortolan Finistirre, who defends in the Senate the use a skull and crossed bones in the cigarette packs. Nick's son Joey Naylor lives with his mother, and has the chance to know his father in a business trip. When the ambitious reporter Heather Holloway betrays Nick disclosing confidences he had in bed with her, his life turns upside-down. But Nick is good in what he does for the mortgage.


Status: Released
Country: USA
Language: English
Awards: Nominated for 2 Golden Globes. Another 12 wins & 23 nominations.
Budget: $7M


David J. Bloomfield (Co-Executive Producer)
Max Levchin (Executive Producer)
Mark Woolway (Executive Producer)
Edward R. Pressman (Executive Producer)
Daniel Dubiecki (Co-Producer)
Stephen Belafonte (Associate Producer)
Alessandro Camon (Executive Producer)
Michael Beugg (Executive Producer)
Elon Musk (Executive Producer)
David O. Sacks (Producer)
Peter Thiel (Executive Producer)




Aaron Eckhart (as Nick Naylor)
Maria Bello (as Polly Bailey)
Cameron Bright (as Joey Naylor)
Adam Brody (as Jack)
Sam Elliott (as Lorne Lutch)
Katie Holmes (as Heather Holloway)
Rob Lowe (as Jeff Megall)
William H. Macy (as Senator Ortolan Finistirre)
Robert Duvall (as The Captain)
David Koechner (as Bobby Jay Bliss)
J.K. Simmons (as BR)
Kim Dickens (as Jill Naylor)
Connie Ray (as Pearl)
Joan Lunden (as Joan Lunden)
Mary Jo Smith (as Sue Maclean)
Todd Louiso (as Ron Goode)
Jeff Witzke (as Kidnapper)
Marianne Muellerleile (as Teacher)
Jordan Garrett (as Kid #2)
Courtney Taylor Burness (as Kid #3)
Daniel Travis (as Brad)
Richard Speight Jr. (as Trainee)
Renée Graham (as Tiffany)
Timothy Dowling (as EGO Assistant)
Marc Scizak (as Ski Mask #2)
Aaron Lustig (as Doctor)
Melora Hardin (as Interviewer)
Brian Palermo (as FBI Agent (voice))
Michael Mantell (as Dr. Meisenbach)
Spencer Garrett (as Senator Lothridge)
Earl Billings (as Senator Dupree)
Catherine Reitman (as Reporter #1)
David O. Sacks (as Oil Lobbyist)
Nancy O'Dell (as Nancy Humphries O'Dell)
Roy Jenkins (as Debate Moderator)
Bruce French (as Gentleman #2)
Christopher Buckley (as Man at Metro Station (uncredited))
Eva La Dare (as Flight Attendant (uncredited))
Aloma Wright (as Gizelle (voice) (uncredited))